Queen of Ordinary – January 5, 2014 – Serving God is More than Filling a Pew

FotoSketcher - 2007_0413WB2Wedding0102

My brother called this morning as I was getting ready for church and needed my help.  I was really looking forward to being there because I’ve been out of town more than I’ve been home for the last several weeks.  Thanks to facebook, I can keep up a little about what’s going on, but it’s just not the same as being there.  I felt like I needed to be with my church family this morning.

So, I had to choose.  Church or no church?  It was not a hard choice.  I have a wonderful brother who is amazingly good to my aging parents, and is always kind to me.  He is 24k gold and I’m mystified as to why some smart lady hasn’t found her way into his life – even if only as a best friend.  He never asks for anything unless he has no other options.  I was glad to change directions and help him out today, and I think God was pleased that I was willing to be inconvenienced for someone I love.

I think it is far too easy for us to think that the church building is what makes us a Chrsitian witness, or brings us approval from our church family.  I do think we need to be in church and not forsake assembling ourselves together.  The fellowship we have with other Christians strengthens all of us, and if the power of God shows up, I want to be there!  Still, there are times that our service to God takes place outside of the church walls.

Most often, feeding the hungry, visiting the sick, giving a drink of water, or going the extra mile for someone in need takes place out in the real world.  Our church pews are launching pads where we go to give of ourselves in tithes, worship, and prayer, get fed by the men and women of God, and equipped to serve in our daily, ordinary lives.

I have no doubt that I made the right choice of where I was supposed to serve God today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

