Queen of Ordinary Sets Goals Early in Life – January 16, 2014

Do you remember when you first dreamed of becoming something special when you were a child? My goals kept changing.
* I wanted to be a singer because my mom had such a wonderful voice and everyone loved to hear her sing the old gospel songs.
* I wanted to be Shirley Temple because she was such an amazing actress/child star and she was always so cute with her pretty clothes and bouncy curls.
* I wanted to be Annie Oakley because she could shoot a gun better than anybody.
* I wanted to be a mommy because she was the best person I knew.
* I wanted to be a writer because I got something published in third grade.
* I wanted to be a photographer because my cousin gave me a camera at age nine.
* I wanted to be a preacher or marry one because they got to tell everybody about God and I thought they were the holiest people on earth.
*I wanted to travel and meet people and see the world and share my faith.
* I wanted to be a singer because music was in my soul.
* I stopped wanting to be Shirley Temple or any other celebrity and started wanting to be the best me that I could be – even though I knew even then that I was ordinary.
* I wanted to be a wife because I fell in love with someone whom I believed loved me and wanted to turn our dreams into realities.
* I wanted to be a mother because it seemed like a baby was the greatest gift a marriage could produce.
* I wanted to be a writer because I could say what was in my heart easier on paper than out loud.
* I wanted to be a photographer because I loved preserving people, places, and moments in time through my lens.
* I wanted to be a minister or marry one, but realized that ministry is not only behind the pulpit.
* I wanted to be a wife because I still believe there might be a happily ever after.
* I wanted to travel, and meet people, and see the world, and share my faith because there is less of my life left than I have already lived and I have traveled so little, met so few, seen such limited things, and not shared my faith nearly enough.
Isn’t it amazing that even as a child, dreams and goals are planted within us. Even though they may change and evolve over time, the seeds of who we will become are sewn when we are very, very young!

Leave a Reply

