Queen of Ordinary Says True Love Isn’t Followed by “But…” February 1, 2014

FotoSketcher - 2009_0625WB2Wedding0291

“I love you, but I’m not in love with you.”

“I love you, but I’m not sure that it’s a forever kind of love.”

“I love  you, but I still have a lot of things I need to get worked out in my life.”

“I love you, but I want to be sure this is the right thing.”

“I love you, but I’m not sure I’m good enough for you.”

Has anyone ever made one of those ridiculous and infuriatingly confusing statements to you?  Perhaps you’ve heard them all.  The person who uses one of these lines is trying to keep from saying, “I really don’t love you, but I don’t want to cut your loose – just in case someone better never comes along.  I want to keep the door open and keep my options open!”  Or they may use one of these lines because they’ve already been unfaithful to the relationship and are avoiding telling the truth.

“I love you” should not be followed by the word “but”.  Sometimes people freak out and soar over the moon when they hear the “L” word.  They only hear the part of the conversation they want to hear.  If the rest of the conversation includes the word, “but,” then red flags and caution signals should be going off in your head.

I’ve been single a long time.  I may go to my grave that way.  I hope not, but I can honestly say that I’d rather live and die alone than to be with someone who doesn’t truly love me.  I am worthy of love.  I will not settle for being someone’s second choice. If I’m not first choice, I’ll be none at all.   If there is a love for my life, he will know that I am the answer to his prayers and vice versa.  He will love me with the love God has placed in his heart toward me and there can be no higher love than that.

If the object of your affection thinks you are not thin enough, smart enough, wealthy enough, young enough/old enough, don’t have the right job, family, or political party it’s because they are not the right one for you.  And YOU deserve better than having someone who only focusses on your imperfections and wants to remold you and remake you from the ground up.

If any of this applies to you, don’t lose hope.  God knows exactly where you are and who the right person is for you.  His plan for us is always better than our own.  The amazing person that God has set aside for you will be worth the wait!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

