Queen of Ordinary “I do…” February 5, 2014

FotoSketcher - Rachel_s best 096 (2)

Marriage is a huge decision.  It is so easy for those entering into a marriage to get tunnel vision.  Plans and preparations for the wedding ceremony take up so much time and space in the couple’s thoughts that they may not be able to see past the actual event.

Saying, “I do,” signifies more than a consent to be wed to the other person.  There could be a list of other things that require and I Do in marriage.

I do… understand that I don’t know you as well as I think I do.

I do… realize that I’m marrying not only you, but your family, your friends, your pets, and all the other important things in your life.

I do… acknowledge that this marriage is not about me always getting what I want.

I do… know how to listen to what you are trying to say to me.

I do… accept responsibility for my end of this relationship and for my own behaviors toward you.

I do… commit to do the hard work it will take to make it through the tough times we are going to have to face sooner or later.

I do… know that actions speak louder than words, but sometimes words are needed also.

I do… understand that you are a gift to me and for me and a manifestation of God’s love in my life and I am never supposed to abuse you or take you for granted.

I do… acknowledge that I cannot complete you.  Only you and God can do that.

I do… plan on spending the rest of my life with you and working together to create a good life, a godly home, and a happy marriage.

I do… foresee that we will not always agree on every little thing, but we both deserve to be heard, and we both deserve the freedom to think, believe, and hear from God as individuals.

I do… promise to be the best person that I can be, with God’s help.

I do… offer myself to you to serve you, please you, love you in spite of your imperfections as you extend those same graces to me in my imperfection.

I do… have life experiences and people in my past that were there before I ever met you, but I promise that I will never value any of them above you or hold on to false memories that will come between us.

I do… believe that we are better together than we would ever be apart.

I do… have faith that God has called us to walk side by side, hand in hand, through this life in service to Him with His blessings and His purpose working through us.

I do… commit to pray for you every day and bless you with words of life and encouragement.

I do… thank God for the gift of you.

Leave a Reply

