Queen of Ordinary Loves Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice – February 6, 2014

FotoSketcher - 167005_521817153552_2895861_n[1]

I love Pride and Prejudice.  I have several copies of the book, several versions on DVD, and have worn out the audiobook as I travel.  I have read and/or watched this story more times than I can count.  There is something about the story or the characters that calls to me and I never get tired of it.  Maybe this work of literature from 1813 speaks to the romantic part of me, or appeals to my hope that in this life true love will work out in the long run.

When Elizabeth has finally accepted Mr. Darcy’s proposal, her sister asks when she discovered that she was in love with him.  This was her response.   “I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.”

I think that true love often happens this way.  Two people form an acquaintance that grows into a friendship and the friendship deepens until love blossoms.

The Bible has a lot to say about all different types of love.  There is a love between parents and children, and love between siblings.  There is a love between man and woman that binds them to each other for a lifetime.  There is the love of friendship between two people. We are even instructed to love our neighbors.   And most importantly, there is love between God and mankind.

I Peter  in the Bible, advises us to love deeply because love covers a multitude of sin.  This is true in life, and I think reflected in the characters Jane Austen created.

Until Valentine’s Day, I am dedicating this blog to the subject of love.  The photos I’ve used and transformed are from wedding photographs I’ve taken over the years.

Even though I am not married, I have a great deal of love in my life and many forms of love.  I want to encourage those who have love in their lives to treasure the gift, and those who do not have a romantic love interest to appreciate the many forms of love there are besides romantic love.  Life without love would be a squandered existence.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

