Queen of Ordinary Believes in True Love – February 9, 2014

FotoSketcher - BrysonCeremony066

Psalm 27:13-14

“I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living! Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!”

I am a romantic.  I admit it.  You’d think after all these years of being divorced and single, I would have just thrown in the towel and said, “Forget about it!”

Maybe I’m one of those people who is simply not destined to have love in my life from a husband or a boyfriend.  That’s okay at this point because I have love in many directions.  I am a blessed woman.  God has been so good to me through the years, I certainly have nothing to feel bad about.

Still, I believe that if there is true love to be found, it is worth the wait.  I’ve seen so many people “settle” because they were afraid of being alone.  Unfortunately, many of them have lived to regret their impatience.

In my own life, I can joyfully say, “Thank God for unanswered prayers!”  There have been men that I was interested in and who pretended to be interested in me for a season.  But after being burned once, I have learned to hide and watch how the person behaves when they are not with me, how they treat other people, and how committed they are to God when they don’t know I’m paying attention.

I went through the typical romantic crushes – a high school sweetie, a college crush, a husband who wasn’t ready to be one, pursuers who think a newly divorced woman is vulnerable to their charms, close friends who made better friends than sweethearts.

So, I am not actively looking for love, but I’m not running from it either.  That is progress.  I do know one thing for sure – if there is such a thing in this world as True Love, it will happen when it’s supposed to, and it will be worth the wait.

To my single blog readers – ENJOY your singleness.  It is a gift.  Work on being the best person you can be and trust God that HE holds your future in His very capable hands.  He knows where you are.  He knows your heart.  He knows what you need when you need it.  Being blessed with the right person in the right season of your life will definitely be worth the wait.

 

 

Leave a Reply

