Queen of Ordinary Looks to the Bible’s Love Chapter – February 14, 2014

FotoSketcher - BrysonPortraits096 (2)

I Corinthians Chapter 13  – I will write the King James Version of this passage, then put each verse in my own words.

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity , I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.  No matter how smart or holy I may appear to be, if I do not have love, then all that I say is empty noise.

And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.  Even if I have spiritual gifts to see the future and understand the mysteries of the universe, and am highly educated; and even though I have great faith in God so much that I could move mountains, if I have no love in me, then I am useless.

And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing.  I  can give all of my money and possessions to help the needy, and offer my body as a sacrifice, but if I do any of it without love, it does no good for me at all.

Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,  Love is enduring, and is kind; love doesn’t get jealous of what others have or what they accomplish.  Love does not always seek to be the center of attention or put itself before the needs of others.  Love is not egotistical.

Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil;  Love does not act ugly or selfishly, and does not strive to always get its own way.  It is not easily angered, and does not think ill of others.

Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth;  Love does not enjoy sin or wrongdoing, but rejoices in truth.

Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. Love is strong enough to handle whatever comes along, and never loses faith in any situation.  Love never stops hoping, and survives whatever difficulties come along.

Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away.  Love doesn’t fail.  The ability to see and predict the future will not always be accurate.  Prayers and praises to God will one day stop.  Man’s intellect and accumulation of knowledge will one day come to an end.

For we know in part, and we prophesy in part.  We do not know the whole picture.  We cannot see the whole future, but only part.

10 But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away.  When the kingdom of God is established in its perfection, every thing we have and know now will be unnecessary.

11 When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.  When I was a child, I said childish things, and had limited understanding.  My thoughts were childish.  When I became an adult, I stopped behaving as a child.

12 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.  Our understanding of God and the world is limited by our human experience, but there will be a time when we see things as they truly are.  Our limited understanding will be opened so that we can see beyond ourselves and fully comprehend the kingdom and love of God.

13 And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.  These things we have for now and they will endure – faith, hope, and love; but the greatest of these is love.

Leave a Reply

