Queen of Ordinary Knows Where to Find Peace February 16, 2014

FotoSketcher - DSCN2533

Friday evening my washing machine burned out.  It was the scariest thing I’ve had to figure out in a long time.  It smelled like my house was on fire.  My car was parked in the garage beneath the house and I was ready to panic.

Before I freaked completely out, I stopped and prayed.  The smelling of an electrical fire/burnt rubber went all through the house.  After I prayed, a peace came over me.  I checked the basement and the smell wasn’t down there.  If my house was really burning, it would have been there as well, I figured.  And I realized the smell was being circulated through the vents.

My computer mouse also bit the bullet.  Two different scales of frustration, but still, a pain to deal with.  My computer locked up and I couldn’t use it until I had a new mouse.  I don’t know about other people, but the Queen of Ordinary doesn’t have hundreds of dollars laying around to replace anything.

I confess that the whole incident was depressing because I’m trying to save money for a trip to Scotland.  Every little setback financially makes that seem further and further away.  But my trust is in the Lord.  He knows my needs, knows my finances, and knows whether or not a trip to Scotland is just a dream on my part or if it is because HE is sending me on a journey.

If I am supposed to go, I know the money, the group, and the timing will be perfect.  In the mean time, a washing machine and a mouse that operates my computer must be dealt with.  All of it together is just no big deal for God, my Father who supplies my needs.  In the mean time, I thank God that my house didn’t burn up because of a washing machine gone bad.  I am thankful for these walls and everything inside of it – for home and comfort and a place where I belong.

Jesus is the Light of my world and in Him is where I find peace.

 

5 thoughts on “Queen of Ordinary Knows Where to Find Peace February 16, 2014

Leave a Reply

