Queen of Ordinary Loves the Individual February 17, 2014

FotoSketcher - DSCF3252

We live in an age where people are more concerned about being politically correct than they are about taking a stand for anything that isn’t popular in the current media and political trends.  I have a hard time understanding how people can be led like sheep into following a crowd just because it looks like a crowd from the back end or from the middle.

Even if I totally disagree with an individual on a certain topic, I will still give them room to believe what they believe, BUT I expect the same courtesy.  I am not a hater.  I am not a bigot.  I love people. But I do not love sin.  I do not love behavior that hurts the individual or makes an individual think they have a license to hurt others.  PERIOD.  If I don’t pat someone on the back and make them believe that what they are doing is fine, it does NOT mean that I don’t love that person.

If I saw someone driving down a road that I knew the bridge was out or that it went flying off a cliff, I would try to warn them of the danger.  I certainly wouldn’t patronize them and say they were going to be just fine, hoping they’d turn back without any warning.  If I saw a person I loved playing with a boa constrictor that had begun to slowly tighten around their body, I wouldn’t stand still and let them get squished without telling them they were in danger.

God loves sinners.  But He never, ever, ever said that he loved them enough to accept their sin.  God loved us enough to send His own son to pay the price for our sin.  As flawed as we are because of the free will He gave us to choose good or evil, He still loved us enough to make a way for us to escape the consequences of sin… asking Jesus Christ to become our Savior and asking to be forgiven our sins.  It is an ongoing process.  In this world, no one ever reaches perfection.  We are constantly in need of acknowledging our sin, repenting for it, and trusting as our Savior.

I like what Billy Sunday had to say about sin.  I read the quote today on another Blog – A Devoted Life.

“Listen, I’m against sin. I’ll kick it as long as I’ve got a foot, I’ll fight it as long as I’ve got a fist, I’ll butt it as long as I’ve got a head, and I’ll bite it as long as I’ve got a tooth. And when I’m old, fistless, footless, and toothless, I’ll gum it till I go home to glory and it goes home to perdition.”

I think that sums it up pretty well.

Leave a Reply

