Stairs to Success Are Not Always Inviting – Feb. 23. 2014

FotoSketcher - DSCF7309

If the stairway to success was clear and uncluttered, people would trample each other trying to get to the top.  If there was no work involved in getting there, hordes would be pushing upward all the time.

I’m afraid in my life I have been a gifted underachiever.  I’ve had real issues of being afraid of failure, and a fear of disappointing people.  I’m sure that I’m not alone in this.  I’ve had one of those lives where it seemed like the people who matter most to me are never quite satisfied with what I’ve accomplished, leaving me often with a sense of, “No matter what I do, it’s never good enough.”

Success has many definitions and varies from one culture to another and even one family to another.  I am finally old enough to realize that it is perilous to try to measure our own personal success by anyone else’s yardstick.

The path to success is one that is among the least often used because of the clutter and obstacles that seem to block the way.  Not knowing exactly what things are going to look like at the top causes a lot of people to never even start the journey.

Philippians 4:13 promises, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Proverbs 16:3 says, “Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established.”

Jeremiah 29:11declares, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”

There are many more promises and bits of wisdom in the Bible about being a success.  God wants us to succeed.  He wants us to be the best we can be.  He equips us with individual gifts and unique life experiences to shape us into human beings with the potential of great success in whatever circumstance we find ourselves.

I don’t have to be the best Billy Graham in the world.  I don’t have to be the best Corey ten Boom there could ever be.  I only have to be the best me that God created me to be.  That is the true measure of success.

Leave a Reply

