Queen of Ordinary Gives Thanks Unto the Lord – Feb. 27, 2014

FotoSketcher - 2008_0213WB2Wedding0086

How often do we go before God with a list of petitions as if He is a benevolent Santa Claus waiting to give us anything and everything we ask for?  It is true that He hears and answers our petitions, but not all of them the way we think is right, or not the things we want every time.

If we took time out to THANK GOD for all the things He has already done in our lives, our prayers could go on for a very long time without asking Him for anything.  Taking time to thank God for His mercies and blessings will also put our other matters in perspective.  Often, when I begin to thank God for His goodness, the thing I thought I needed to pray about fade into the background.

There are times that what I had wanted to bring before God as a request become a prayer of thanksgiving in advance.

“Father, I thank you for directing my paths.  I thank you for the plan you have for my life and the purpose you have for me.  I thank you that you have equipped me with skills, experiences, and gifts that have equipped me to do the things in this life that You want me to do.  I thank you that you have blessed me to be a blessing.  I thank you that you will grant me favor with those who will open doors of opportunity in my life.”

Oh, give thanks unto the Lord, for He is good!  His mercies endure forever! – Psalm 118:1

Leave a Reply

