Queen of Ordinary – Give Me a Heart of Flesh – March 2, 2014

FotoSketcher - biltmore with jeremy and emily 248

A friend and I were sharing a few thoughts yesterday. We are both dealing with wounds to the heart.  Hers are fresh, while mine are ancient.  I have forgiven and moved forward in life, but the scars are still there.  As she shared her disappointment in someone she had trusted and loved completely, I flashed back to the time in my life when I was right there.

As a matter of self preservation, humans can only endure a certain amount of emotional pain before they start shutting people out and building walls around their heart.  Yet, it is vitally important not to let our wounds turn our heart to stone.  God gave us an emotional heart with a tremendous capacity for love, trust, and forgiveness for a reason.  We need each other.  We need other people in our lives.  We need to feel and grow, to meet our challenges head on and learn how to navigate the difficult currents of life.

I don’t ever want to go through the emotional hurt I went through in the past again, but I don’t want to miss out on the possibility of a great and abiding love in the future.  I believe it is possible to meet and fall in love with someone who is such an amazing, caring human being, who loves God and treats everyone else accordingly, that the past can be totally forgotten.  I hope I am right about this and I hope to find out for sure one day.

If we want to be free from the stony heart which fears love, people, and living in the world where we are vulnerable to be hurt by others, God wants to heal and restore us.  He wants to take away the stony heart and the hurt that caused it.

“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.“  (Ezekiel 36:26 NIV)

Leave a Reply

