Queen of Ordinary Looks Through Dark Glass – March 5, 2014

FotoSketcher - bell co elk 053

I have spent way too much time in my life looking backwards and trying to figure out some things that were very hurtful and trying to understand why certain individuals chose to behave in the ways they did.  I have analyzed things to death, and guess what?  I still don’t have it figured out.  If I had only used that time to think about productive things or set goals that the same amount of brain power would have accomplished!

I did learn my lesson, however.  It took quite a while, but I finally realized that it is impossible to figure things out without having all of the details, and I never will have that.  So, I decided to let it go and shake the dust from my feet and move forward.  Have you ever tried to drive a car forward while looking over your shoulder backward?  Not a good idea!

This Bible verse reminds us that in our mortal state, we simply can not see everything clearly.  We cannot know all we want to know.  But when we are united with Christ in eternity, we will have the ability to see clearly, and to understand.  We won’t have a need to play guessing games, try to figure things out, or attempt to analyze things until they make sense.  In the mean time, we learn to trust God for all that we cannot see, and keep moving forward toward Him and toward the day where our understanding of God and of ourselves is clear.

I Corinthians 13:12 promises, “Now we see through a glass darkly, but then face to face; now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.”

The New International Version translates the verse like this, “For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.”

I also like the Weymouth New Testament interpretation:  “For the present we see things as if in a mirror, and are puzzled; but then we shall see them face to face. For the present the knowledge I gain is imperfect; but then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.”

 

Leave a Reply

