Queen of Ordinary Remembers Days of Mailboxes – March 14, 2014

FotoSketcher - IMG_1192

“Please Mister Postman”

Wait! Oh yes, wait just a minute Mr. Postman Wait! Wait Mr. Postman
Mr. Postman, look and see (Oh yeah) If there’s a letter in your bag for me (Please, please Mr. Postman) I’ve been waiting a long long time (Oh yeah) Since I heard from that gal of mine
There must be some word someday From my girlfriend so far away Please Mr. Postman look and see If there’s a letter, a letter for me
I’ve been standing here waiting Mr. Postman So-o-o patiently For just a card or just a letter Saying she’s returning home to me Please Mr. Postman
Mr. Postman, look and see (Oh yeah) If there’s a letter in your bag for me (Please, please Mr. Postman) I’ve been waiting a long long time (Oh yeah) Since I heard from that gal of mine
So many days you passed me by Trail of tears standing in my eye You didn’t stop to make me feel better By leaving me a card or a letter Mr. Postman
Mr. Postman, look and see Is there a letter in your bag for me? (Oh yeah for me) I’ve been waiting such a long time Since I heard from that girlfriend of mine
You gotta wait a minute, wait a minute, oh yeah (Mr. Postman) Wait a minute, wait a minute, oh yeah (Mr. Postman) You gotta wait a minute, wait a minute, oh yeah (Mr. Postman) Check it and see, one more time for me.
The Marvellettes, The Beatles, and The Carpenters all recorded versions of this song.  This was in the age before cell phones, texting, facebook, twitter, and e-mail.  Hand written letters were precious.  I watched for the postman to come up our front steps in Steger, Illinois every day through the summer – hoping to hear from far away cousins, friends, or sweeties.
A hand written letter could be read and reread.  It was personal.  The script or manuscript of the person writing said a lot about who they were, as well as their choice of words.  When a guy and girl were corresponding by mail on a regular basis, it was considered a relationship on some level.
When I go to the post office these days, all I get are bills and advertisements, or maybe great deals on life insurance.  There is no love lost in the mailboxes of America these days.
What if there was someone who loved you so much that he/she wrote an entire book revealing their love for you day after day?  What if they totally exposes their heart to you and declared their love for you in black and white?
There is a love letter like that.  It is called The Bible… God’s love letter to humankind.
Leave a Reply

