Queen of Ordinary Has Chicken Lips – March 29, 2014

FotoSketcher - IMG_0586 (2)

This picture is not of me.  This little beauty is a granddaughter of one of my friends.  All children are beautiful.  When they are little, they are so uninhibited or unconcerned about what anybody thinks about their looks.  They don’t love according to the other person’s looks or make harsh judgments about anything based on looks.

I wonder at exactly what age I first felt less than perfect?  Now all I have to do is look in the mirror and see that all the cuteness has long worn off.  One day last week while I was brushing my teeth, it dawned on me – I HAVE CHICKEN LIPS!  What in the world happened to the full, cherry red lips I once had?  They’ve vanished!

I’ve been told my ears are too big, my nose is too big, my mouth is too little for my face, I have a big forehead, would be so pretty if I’d just lose enough weight, have burnt brown hair.  All of these compliments have come at different times, but they all stick in the same place – right in the “no confidence zone.”

I wish people could see past our skin and see who dwells in our hearts.  The beautiful might have gargoyles living inside.  And the plane Janes might have a beauty lurking underneath.

Age is a great gift.  I am at peace with my imperfections.  Growing older is a privilege that not all get to experience.  So, if some body parts have begun to head south for the summer, a few gray highlights haves begun to sneak in – and even if I have chicken lips, I’m okay with that.  Who I am is far bigger than the face in the mirror.

The King James version of the Bible says, “But the LORD said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the LORD seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the LORD looketh on the heart.”
Another version says, ”
But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or his stature, because I have rejected him. Man does not see what the LORD sees, for man sees what is visible, but the LORD sees the heart.”

2 thoughts on “Queen of Ordinary Has Chicken Lips – March 29, 2014

  1. I’ll bet for every one of those criticisms there have been Kant compliments. We recall the bad more easily…but then one day we do realize that the inside is the better place to focus our energies. And….chickens are really THE thing where I live. You are on it girl!

Leave a Reply

