Queen of Ordinary – Grass isn’t always greener on the other side. April 9, 2014

FotoSketcher - 2009_0616WB2Wedding0383

Today I drove across the north slope of Pine Mountain, observing the progress of spring on the mountain.  It comes a little slower in higher elevations.  Still there were patches of grass tufts sticking up and fields greening.  It wasn’t quite as advanced as the south side of the mountain where I live.

Those green fields reminded me of something from my distant past.  When I was in college, I played the guitar and sang many places with the BSU choir.  One of the most requested songs was The Grass is Greener by Dottie Rambo, written in 1970.

I may not remember the words exactly, but I’ll try:

I have watched the hand of death reach out to loved ones, and it nearly broke my heart to say good-bye  But I heard an old friend say as he was leaving, I been waiting oh so long for God’s chariot to bring me home and the grass is greener on the other side.

The roses never ever die.  God’s river never runs dry. Children play forever on the hills of freedom.  No more wars to pull the home apart.  Heaven claims no tears or broken hearts.  The grass is greener on the other side.  The grass is greener on the other side.

This earth with all its beauty holds so little.  I could leave today and be satisfied.  I hope you don’t think that I’m ungrateful, but I caught a glimpse of glory and my mind is fixed on going because the grass is greener on the other side.

*****

The psalmist David said, The Lord is my shepherd.  I shall not want.  He maketh me to lie down in green pastures.

My question is, why do we spend time thinking someone else’s pasture is greener or better than the one that God has made for us to lie down in?

Just a little something to think about.  Our grass may take a little longer to green up, but with God in control, it will be right on time!

 

Leave a Reply

