Queen of Ordinary Avoids Lava Hearts – April 14, 2014

FotoSketcher - DSCF3980

I’ve called myself to task recently for saying negative things or allowing myself to feel critical.  I’m not usually like this, but sometimes I let the negative things and negative people in my life stick to me like a burr.  I hear the edge on my voice when I make a comment and am immediately convicted.

What’s in our heart will flow out of our mouths.  If I sound ugly it’s because I’ve stopped letting Jesus rule and am letting some Judy out.

Proverbs says that “as iron sharpeneth iron, so does a man sharpen the countenance of his friends.”

I recently had my brother tell me that he wasn’t sure he liked a particular one of my friends.  I asked why and he said it was because I was always down when I’d been around them.  My son once told me the same thing about a friend years ago.  There must be something to it.

I’d like to think that I’m the one who is strong enough not to let other people influence me in negative ways, but the truth is we are all human.  What we are near tends to rub off on us.

If someone has lava in their heart, it is bound to run over and burn others along the way.  I don’t want to let other people’s anger steal my joy or change my perspective on life, but at the same time I don’t want to let life cause me to let lava build up on the inside.

Lord fill my heart with joy, with flowers, with love, so that when people have spent time with me they go away feeling better, more aware of God’s love, and more sure of themselves!

 

 

Leave a Reply

