Queen of Ordinary – “Do the best you can with what you’ve got.” 4/21/2014

FotoSketcher - 2009_0906WB2Wedding0047

I live in Appalachia where people have strong faith in God, strong loyalties to their families, a love of the earth, and a will to survive.

In mainstream America there is a mindset that is unfortunate.  I refer to it as the “Never Enough Syndrome.”  No matter how much material things accumulated, it is often still not enough.  We want better jobs, better pay, bigger houses, more comfortable cars, designer clothes, successful children, all the modern conveniences, and as much as we can get of “things.”

Sometimes I think the people living at the head of the hollow or on a little farm in middle America or in a cabin in the New England woods are the lucky ones.   Those who have learned to be content with their lives, cherish their relationships, and creatively make the best of their circumstances seem to be happier in their own ways.

My mother has quoted this bit of Appalachian wisdom all of my life.  “Sometimes you just have to do the best you can with what you’ve got and let the rest take care of itself.”

Philippian 4:11-12 says, ”  Not that I speak in respect of want:  for I have learned in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.  I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.”

I like the encouragement to look at what is at hand and make the most of it instead of focusing on things of which we do not have.  The Bible promises that God will supply all of our needs according to His riches in glory.  If He doesn’t provide it, there is another way to take advantage of what we have at hand that we simply have not discovered yet.

 

Leave a Reply

