Queen of Ordinary – Don’t Lock Yourself In – May 22, 2014

FotoSketcher - IMG_0850

Have you been hurt in your life by other people?  or by a specific individual?  Have you ever wanted to hide away behind locked doors where no one can ever hurt you again?  Have you built up walls to keep others out?  Have you locked the door to your heart?

I was there many years ago.  I was so hurt and betrayed by someone I loved with all my heart, I felt like I had to protect myself because another wound like that would have mortal consequences.  I didn’t want to have to endure that pain again – ever.

God showed me a vision of myself hoping that someone would break down the wall, see the real me, and come charging in to rescue me from ever being hurt again.  Yet while I was hoping, I was steadily placing one brick with mortar at a time in place to build my wall higher and thicker all the time.

He spoke to my heart, “You may THINK you are building the wall to keep others out, but you are building a prison, one brick at a time, to keep yourself in.”

God never called us to be brick layers that shut ourselves away from the rest of the world.  I also realized that the person who had caused such grievous injury was out in the world carrying on, living large, and could care less what I was going through.

I forgave.  Over and over I chose to forgive, and tear that wall back down one brick at a time.  I wanted to stay safe, but I wanted to be free more than that.

Here are some of my favorite Bible verses about freedom.

II Corinthians 3:17 – Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.

John 8: 36 – Whom the Son has made free is free indeed.

Psalm 118:5 – I cried out in my anguish and the Lord heard me and set me free.

Isaiah 61:1 – The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners…

Are you a prisoner of your own making?  Have you been hiding out behind your walls of captivity in an effort to keep hurt or harm away?

I urge you to tear down the same walls you built up; unlock the door; and be free.  Forgive.  It is the greatest gift you will ever give yourself.

 

2 thoughts on “Queen of Ordinary – Don’t Lock Yourself In – May 22, 2014

  1. I love the imagery that you use of bricking yourself in one brick at a time and that we only lock ourselves in by doing so. To spend so much time creating one thing, a wall, seems like such a waste where there are so many other good things that we can create.

    • Thank you for visiting my blog. I appreciate your comment. And yes – there are too many other good things to spend our time and energy on than building dividing walls. 🙂

Leave a Reply

