Queen of Ordinary Reflects on Fear – June 12, 2014

FotoSketcher - DSCF5541

I’ve been with my grandchildren for a couple of days and they are fearless.  It takes someone on their toes constantly to keep these little ones out of harm’s way.  They are constantly exploring, climbing, and searching out the world around them.  At least one adult has to be engaged in watching them full time.

This little colt is one born in the wild.  When I approached the herd in my vehicle, the older horses eyed me suspiciously and kept a safe distance.  This little fellow wasn’t the least bit afraid of anything.  His mother was constantly following him, cutting him off, whinnying at him, and calling him back to her side.  If he didn’t come, she came to him.  I tried to shoo him away from the car because I could tell it made her nervous, but he had absolutely no fear.

When do we lose our natural instinct to trust and let fear take over?  Hunger?  Poopy diapers?  Scrapes and boo boos?  Angry voices?

I have never understood why some people seem to delight in feeding their fears.  I absolutely refuse to watch scary movies.  I don’t read murder mysteries, demonic, or violent themed literature.  Why would opening the door for fear to come in and abide with me be a good thing?

I have enough fears already and wish I could be free of all of them without adding more.  The list of human fears goes on and on.  Fear of death, fear of aging, fear of being alone, fear of not having enough money, fear of being found out, fear of being single, fear of growing old alone, fear of sickness, fear of losing a job.  There are so many fears, many of them have impressive names, hydrophobia, arachnophobia, etc.

I found the following quotes from http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow to be interesting:

“Fear is born of Satan, and if we would only take time to think a moment we would see that everything Satan says is founded upon a falsehood.” ~ A. B. Simpson

“Faith, which is trust, and fear are opposite poles. If a man has the one, he can scarcely have the other in vigorous operation. He that has his trust set upon God does not need to dread anything except the weakening or the paralyzing of that trust.” ~ Alexander MacLaren 

“Fear is the response of the human heart when its one thing is threatened.” ~ Augustine

“No one ever told me that grief felt so like fear.”  ~ C.S. Lewis

“Worry is a cycle of inefficient thoughts whirling around a center of fear.” ~ Corrie Ten Boom

“God incarnate is the end of fear and the heart that realizes that He is in the midst… will be quiet in the middle of alarm.” ~ F.B. Meyer

What does the Bible say about fear?   Quite a lot actually.  There is only one desirable fear – the fear of God – which includes awe, accountability, honor, worship, and respect.

Here are some Bible verses:

Psalms 27:1 The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

Psalms 56:3-4 When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?

2 Timothy 1:7 (KJV) For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

1 John 4:18 There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.

My advice is this:  Don’t feed your fears.  Don’t open doors in your life for fear to come in and dwell in your house or your mind.  When fear does creep in, put your trust in God and fear can not stay.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

