Queen of Ordinary Offers Hope As Solution to Depression – June 23, 2014

FotoSketcher - IMG_5255a

I know more people with symptoms of depression than I care to count.  Life has a way of throwing tough things our way.  Sometimes we get hit with so many things at one time, it is really hard to cope with it all at once.  I am not immune to these emotional quagmires, but I have discovered the cure – at least for me.

When life is beating the stuffings out of me, I take time to remember all the things I am blessed with in my life.  I remind myself of all the tough things that God has already brought me through.  If that doesn’t work, I get busy doing something for someone else, like trying to give them hope in their tough time.

When I saw the little rag doll in an antique shop in Cumberland Gap, Virginia, I thought it was the saddest little doll I’d ever seen.  “Hope deferred makes a heart sad…”  I can’t imagine why anyone would make such a depressed looking doll.  A lot of people are walking around with that same expression.

It made me start thinking of Bible verses about hope that are uplifting.

Romans 15:13 – Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost.

Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

Isaiah 40:31 – But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew [their] strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; [and] they shall walk, and not faint.

Romans 5:2 –  By whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God.

Deuteronomy 31:6 -Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD thy God, he [it is] that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.

Psalms 39:7 – And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope [is] in thee.

Psalms 71:14 -But I will hope continually, and will yet praise thee more and more.

Leave a Reply

