Queen of Ordinary Loves Hills and Mountains – June 27, 2014

FotoSketcher - Begley Wildlife management area - 1 - judy 037

Today was a good day for a drive with my mother and brother.  We passed through many little mountain communities and on into hill country.  The scenery was beautiful.

I realized that I am in love with mountains, hills, and valleys.  This is the landscape that  pleases me aesthetically, calms me, and gives me such a strong sense of God’s presence through His creation.

The Appalachian Mountains are among the oldest in the world.  They are no longer the tallest because of wind, weather, and erosion that has worn them down over time.  The beauty of these mountains nurture my spirit.

I grew up in the Midwest in land as flat as a pancake, the mountains never stopped calling to me.  As soon as I was old enough and went off to college, I promised myself that I would make my home in the mountains I love.

There are a lot of mountain ranges I’d like to visit.  Hopefully the Scottish Highlands will be among those I visit before the end of the year.  I’d love to visit the Adirondacks and the Rockies.

What the soothing sounds of lapping waves, ocean breezes, and white beaches do for some people in calming their spirit, mountains and hills do for me.  “I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills from whence cometh my help.”  Psalm 121:1

Leave a Reply

