Queen of Ordinary Chases the Moon – July 12, 2014

My brother and I were in the car when we saw the moon coming up over the mountains and it was huge!  He didn’t stop because he thought it would be easy to get a shot of it on down the road.  As photographers know, a missed shot is gone forever.  He kept driving and driving for about 20 minutes, thinking it would be just the same around another bend or shining over another mountain ridge.

It wasn’t.

At least we got to see the Super Moon leaving its nest for the night.  This is one shot I will always regret that I couldn’t get and couldn’t make a non-photographer understand that chasing the moon is just not the same everywhere.

It reminded me of a nursery rhyme my mother used to sing me when the full moon would shine in through my bedroom window as she tucked me into bed at night.

“I see the moon and the moon sees me.  The moon sees somebody I’d like to see.  God bless the moon and God bless me, and God bless somebody I’d like to see.”

The sky is clear, the air smells of summer greens and river streams.  The mountains are alive with night noises and it is a good evening for chasing the moon.

Leave a Reply

