Queen of Ordinary Watches Friendship Catch Fire – August 14, 2014

FotoSketcher - 101_0086

In the spring I had a friend who was entertaining the possibility of dating someone new, but she just wasn’t sure if she wanted to start up a new relationship.  I asked her to do me a favor and go out with him five times and see if they enjoyed being together.  If at the end of those five times she wasn’t interested in a dating relationship, she might just have gained a new friend.

By the end of five times, she was ready for six, seven, one hundred.  They are still together and seem to genuinely love each other, which (I’m pretty sure) came as a shock to her after a string of disappointing relationships. 

I’m no Ann Landers, but I think the reason this relationship is different chiefly concerns the fact that they started out as friends and that friendship caught fire from the small sparks that were there in the beginning and grew as they spent more time together and added more fuel to the fire.

I would like to find that kind of love – one based on faith, friendship, and would grow to a deep, abiding flame of love that never burned out.  I’m such a romantic, and a dreamer, but I do think it’s possible and I have one friend, at least, who is living proof!

 

Leave a Reply

