We Don’t Always Need to Question “WHY?” – Queen of Ordinary – November 6, 2014

IMG_1743  DSCN5522DSCN6843  Photos from Ireland, Scotland, and Wales

I am a person who always wants to understand the “Why?” of things.  I want to be able to logically sort through events and make sense of them.  Like a child, I usually have more questions than answers.

On a recent trip through the countries of Ireland, Scotland, England, and Wales I was tempted over and over to try to figure out the “why?” of it.  Why was I there?  Why had I had such a deep inner longing to be there for decades?  Why had God sent me on this journey?

It hit me very hard one day that if I didn’t quit trying to figure out all of the “whys” in this big adventure, that I was actually going to miss some of them.  The Holy Spirit spoke to my heart that I was supposed to enjoy the journey in the journey.

I was there to taste life in a different place, absorb as much of the beauty, the culture, the people, and the landscape as I possibly could.  It would take a very long time to seek out the whys and I could do that after I got home.  So, I let go of trying to figure it out and just enjoyed what was in front of me.  I’ve been home almost three weeks and there isn’t a day that I don’t think of something we saw or did in a new way, or process it with a new understanding.

I wonder how many other people in this world fail to enjoy the “now” instead of picking it apart looking for the “why”?  Since I consider myself to be quite ordinary, I dare say there are many others who are guilty of the same thing.

If someone hands us a gift, “Why?” should not be the first thing that comes to our mind.  When God showers His great love and gifts on us, we shouldn’t waste the gift or our time trying to figure it out.  Just enjoy.

I Corinthians 2:12 says, “12 We have not received the spirit of the world but the Spirit who is from God, that we may understand what God has freely given us.”

Even though I am borrowing this verse out of context, there is so much that God has freely given us in this world just because He loves us.  May we learn to embrace those gifts without staining them with the constant question of “why”.

Leave a Reply

