Spiritual Dreams and Their Relevance Today – Queen of Ordinary – November 7, 2014

 IMG_2551  IMG_2521

Glendaloch Monastic Settlement – Ireland

Have you ever had a dream that haunted you for years?  Have you ever dreamed anything in such vivid color and specific detail that you knew it was significant the moment you woke up?

In our Appalachian culture, dreams are still considered significant.  Not all dreams have a message or deeper meaning, but I am convinced that some definitely do.  I believe that all people probably have dreams in the course of their lifetime that are for warning, instruction, or revelation, but not all people take them seriously.

I saw the tower above in a dream that I will share in this post over THIRTY years ago, but the dream remained with me and vivid ever since.  It has often replayed in my head like a giant movie screen, reminding me of the instructions it held.

The Bible actually has a lot to say about dreams.

Acts 2:17 “‘And in the last days it shall be, God declares, that I will pour out my Spirit on all flesh, and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams.”

Amos 3:7 “For the Lord God does nothing without revealing his secret to his servants the prophets.”

One thought on “Spiritual Dreams and Their Relevance Today – Queen of Ordinary – November 7, 2014

  1. Beautiful post and thoughts. I’ve often found it easiest to listen to God in places like Ireland – by the ocean with the waves crashing or in the quiet of a forest.

    The monastic settlement at Glendalough was the first ruin I ever saw in Ireland. Wonderful place.

Leave a Reply

