Neist Point Lighthouse, Scotland – Queen of Ordinary – November 20, 2014

images[2]  IMG_8050

I borrowed the lighthouse image of Neist Point because I wasn’t able to make the hike all the way out to the point due to knee issues.  While our group made the lengthy trek, I enjoyed photographing the shore line, sheep, and an incredible ocean view.

I’ve always wanted to do a lighthouse tour of the New England Coast.  It was very frustrating to be so close to a lighthouse and not be able to see it.  However, sometimes common sense should prevail, even when we want to do otherwise.  Down about 100 metal stairs in a howling  wind, rain threatening on the horizon, and at least a mile hike out to the point, I chose to stay behind.

I still had a lovely day.  Give me my camera and turn me loose.  I’ll never be bored.  I followed the sheep paths to the top of the cliffs, walked along a path recently featured in  a Keanu Reeves film, listened foreigners talk about “crazy Americans,” undetected, and had a great time walking and talking with God.

DSCN6437 DSCN6439

DSCN6431 IMG_8047

When I was a student at the Univeristy of the Cumberlands (then Cumberland College), I had a group of friends that formed a gospel group.  They called themselves Young Witness. They were young, extremely handsome, dedicated Christians who loved the Lord back then and I’m happy to say that they are honorable, godly men all of these years later. One of their most requested songs was “I Thank God for the Lighthouse.”

The Lighthouse
By Ronnie Hinson
(c) 1971

There’s a lighthouse on the hillside
That overlooks life’s sea.
When I’m tossed it sends out a light,
Tis a light that I might see.
And the light that shines in darkness now
Will safely lead us o’er.
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse,
My ship would be no more.

And I thank God for the lighthouse,
I owe my life to Him.
For Jesus is the lighthouse
And from the rocks of sin;
He has shone a light around me
That I could clearly see,
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse
Tell me where would this ship be.

Everybody that lives around us
Says tear that lighthouse down.
The big ships don’t sail this way anymore,
There’s no use of it standing around.
Then my mind goes back to that stormy night,
When just in time I saw the light;
Yes the light from that old lighthouse
That stands up there on the hill.

And I thank God for the lighthouse,
I owe my life to Him.
For Jesus is the lighthouse
And from the rocks of sin;
He has shone a light around me
That I could clearly see,
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse
Tell me where would this ship be.

If it wasn’t for the lighthouse,
Tell me, where would this ship be?

Leave a Reply

