Birthdays – Queen of Ordinary – December 4, 2014

How time flies!  Today is my birthday and I can hardly believe I’m this age.  I blinked, it seems, and decades vanished.  It has been a good year, although there is always a balance of happy and sad, good and bad, challenges and victories.  It is the beginning of a new phase in my life and I can’t wait to see what God has in store in the next few years of my life.

I am thankful to have had the life I was given.  It hasn’t turned out the way I had hoped it would YET, but I’ve had plenty of wonderful people in my life through the years, great family, good friends, and interesting experiences.

Since I’m still here, I can only assume that God isn’t finished with me yet.  What is my destiny?  Why am I here in this time and this place?  What business do I have yet undone?

I believe there are still adventures and opportunities ahead that will surprise me.  Life has a way of doing that to us.

I have learned a few things in my years, but there is so much left to learn.  I have loved many people, but there are many more to love..  I have tried to serve God with all of my heart since I was a child, but there is more of my heart to give and more ways I can serve.  I have dreamed many dreams and had them come to pass, but I have probably never dreamed big enough.  I have been judgmental at times, but never as tough on anyone else as I am on myself.  I’ve had some successes, but I am daily reminded of my shortcomings. I am not rich in money, but I am rich in people.

I have tried to be good, but I know that my goodness is not what counts.  As humans we are all flawed and imperfect creatures.  We can never be good enough under our own efforts alone.

It is the goodness of God, His love, His mercy, His purpose, His design for my future, His paths that are most important to me in this life.  At the end of my days, when no more birthdays are waiting for me on this side of heaven, I hope to hear God say, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”  That new day, that birthday in eternity will be the best ever.

Betty_s photos 084 Betty_s photos 099Judy2 copy

One thought on “Birthdays – Queen of Ordinary – December 4, 2014

Leave a Reply

